Screen is blank when I start PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default Screen is blank when I start PC

I was previously having a problem with my computer, and decided to uninstall and (try to) reinstall the driver software. I went on the computer with the driver software gone, but my computer froze and i had to turn the computer off. I started up and the screen is absolutely blank. Nothing comes up, but some message that says the monitor is in safe mode, which is not important. So I obviously can not go back in at all and do anything. Would anyone know the solution to this problem? Thank you.
__________________

ARPatel is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

is ur video card all the way in the slot?
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

sounds like the video card is either not seated properly, dead, and/or the monitor cable is not plugged in snug. If you get NOTHING like no BIOS then it is something related to the video card. If you have another cheap one lying around or another pc to temp yank one out of, plug that in and see if it works.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

yeah make sure of that, and then try reseating it. make sure to check all the connections and make sure there are no bent pins.
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

wow, Win2kpatcher- we posted that at the same time

I had a problem similar to that on my computer a while ago. I couldnt get anything to come on the screen at all, no post beep, no sign of video at all. I tried swapping out many video cards to no avail. I finally solved the problem with a new processor. I guess my originial processor just plain didn't like the mobo! It fit the requirements for the mobo and all, but wouldn't work. it's running fine now.
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default

What if i have integrated graphics on the motherboard? Would that work as a replacement?
ARPatel is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Well nvm about the integrated graphics. Guess you do need a graphics card to be able to connect the monitor somewhere.
ARPatel is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to Ramus
Default

I had this same problem when I was using my ASUS P4P800 mobo with a Radeon 9800 Pro. The video would not start up at all, and I think it was the mobo not the card. It could also be a defective card though, I never found out for sure. (As I returned it and got my 210 bucks back!)
__________________

Ramus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.