scanner or windows problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2004, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default scanner or windows problem?

I was given a Compaq Presario 4814. I installed win 98se on it. I tried installing a Microtek Scanmaker 4800 on it. My problem is that a scanner is not listed in my device properties and when I try to add new hardware. I find imaging devices but the only imaging device shown is a Kodak Digital Camera, but the choices for the camera are either COM 1 or LPT port. The scanner is usb and the computer recognize new hardware in the usb devices but as an unknown device. The computer program for the Scanner does not detect it. I have updated my bios and all my drivers. I have uninstalled and reinstalled over and over again. I have tried different usb cords. The only thing I can think of that is left is that the scanner is win 98, 2000, me, and xp compatable but not win95. Even though I have installed win 98 on it could it be conflicting with the scanner some how. How do I fix this? Please help me, I have been working on this for almost 2 weeks now.
__________________

debi is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Try going to Microtek's Website & get the proper install directions for Win 98 with the latest drivers. There's probably a set procedure for it.
Have ya also ran Windows Update to get any additional fixes for Win98 se?
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Probably more than ya want to know.http://www.onlyscanners.com/wwwboard/wwwboard.shtml
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

thanks I will try that.
debi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.