Scanner Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2004, 05:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Question Scanner Problem

I recently got an old Microtek 336CX PHANTOM parallel port scanner from a freind. I don’t have the original power adaptor or the parallel data cable which came with the scanner. On the back panel of the scanner it says "12v 1amp" So I brought a power adaptor rating 12v 1amp. The parallel cable is a cable that says ZIP on the connectors.

When I switch the PC on the ready LED of the scanner flashes and lights up. But when I initiate a scan it greets me with error messages like "Scanning lamp or image sensor circuit failure". But if I shutdown the PC and reboot after about an hour, it scans ok. No errors at all. (well, scanned images are not perfect. they seem to have RGB horizontal lines. ) I can scan anything as long as I doesn’t reboot. If I restart, the same error message pops up again.

First I supplied 12v's, but the place where U plugs the power cord to the scanner heats up like hell. So now I use 9v's. But both are the same, 12v and 9v both gives the restart error problem and the RGB line problem.

I’m confused.
Need help soon.

Wreckles is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 12:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5

Does any 1 have a idea what causes these red, green, blue horuzontal lines ?

Wreckles is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5

I messed around with the power adapter and learned 12v's 1A some times actually reduse RGB lines dramatically in smaller images than 9V 1A (say 6"x6" - see the attached file). So maybe the problem resides on the power, more likly amps.

The microtek website support section says:
Symptoms : Horizontal Lines Existed on scan-out
Cause : Incorrect power adapter connected
Resolution : double check the power adapter you used:
15Vdc, 1.25A or 1.33A for SM-V6USL, SM3600, SM3700, SM3750i, SM4600 and SM4700.
12Vdc, 1.25A for C3, C6, SM3800, SM4800, SM4900 and SM5900.

The back panel of the scanner says 12V 1A, I tried to find the user manual for 336CX or SlimScanC3, on the net but no luck.

Will it melt if I use a 1.25A adapter ?
Can anybody give me the power requirements if U have a similar scanner ?
Wreckles is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1


I also have the Microtek C336CX scanner with original adapter. I got this also from a friend. Well now i want to use the scanner but I can't use it because it doesn't turn on. When i connect a different adapter it goes on, but i have lots of horizontal stripes.

The adapter is very light but undamaged.

Someone got any idea's about my problem?

Thanks ?
TeCnIx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.