Scanner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2002, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
kfh
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12
Default Scanner

Hi All,

Since I moved my system my scanner is only giving me a black page.
I've been to HP web site and done all they say.
Any I deas where to look next before I trash it.
It's not that old but I can't find the gaurantee from.

HP 3400C.
OS ME/XP Pro.

Thanks,

kfh.
__________________

kfh is offline  
Old 10-28-2002, 11:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Xerion Send a message via AIM to Xerion Send a message via Yahoo to Xerion
Default

are you using its scanner application?
make sure settings are set ok,and that its connected to pc correctly
__________________

__________________
http://www.virtual-forum.com/wbb/sig/new5.gif
Celeron 766MHz at 66MHz bus
192 MB RAM: 1x 64 MB + 1x 128mb,both pc 133mhz,but running at 100mhz,cause bus+33mhz
inno3d/innovision tornado GeForce 4 mx 440 64mb ddr,tv-out
40gb 7400rpm Maxtor HDD
Xerion is offline  
Old 10-28-2002, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
All Seeing Eye
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 72
Default

I had the same scanner before I bought this 4400c.. the scanning-light was burned and only gave me a black page.. look if it starts giving light or flickers or just moving around..
anyways, this 4400c is just damned better, great one.. 30 sec and you have a full colored scanned picture in your computer..
I haven't tossed it, cause I like things's parts
anyway, check what the problem realy is before you do something with it..

oh, and my new scanner gave me a black page yesterday too.. I had a viruse named Pe Peraite, or something like that, that damaged all of my exe files... I deleted any stuff linked to it, and reinstalled the program and drivers (new ones from the hp.com site), and now it works perfectly fine..
azury is offline  
Old 10-28-2002, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
kfh
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12
Default

Hi All,

Just uninstalled and added newest drivers.
I'm now getting a 1215 error scanner not found.
So is it an XP problem or still a scanner problem.

Thanks,

kfh.
kfh is offline  
Old 10-28-2002, 03:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
All Seeing Eye
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 72
Default

I recomend you ask the technical help of any XP advices, if there are any...
but I don't belive it is a scanner problem, unless it has a bad cables of burnt light (If the error changes, then probably it isn't the cables..)..
but maybe I don't really know more...
azury is offline  
Old 10-29-2002, 04:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
kfh
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12
Default

Hi All,

Yes it is usb, I changed port and is now still scanning a black page again.
The light seems ok and it scans as usual.
Time for a new scanner I guess.

Thanks for all your help.

kfh.
kfh is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 05:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

also too, the lens thingmajig (at loss for the correct term) could be burnt out. if there was a power surge through that usb port (was it external usb hub or mobo usb port?) then the scanner could be fried. depends on what was going on before the black pages started happening.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.