SATA Wierdness? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 11:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Moyer
Default SATA Wierdness?

Why is my SATA Hdd listed in the removable hardware thing in my taskbar? Is this some nvforce chipset thing? My old mobo was a VIA and it never did this. Anyone have any info or insight?
__________________

Moyer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

I dont think its the SATA HDD removal utility. There is an utility to configure the RAID and other properties for SATA drives, maybe that is the application running on your taskbar.

Sign
Codes
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Most SATA drives are hot-swappable. Windows detects them the same as it detects USB devices. You could, in theory, just yank the drive out and put a new one in, and the system will just treat it the same as exchanging a thumb-drive. Problem is, if you're like me, my OS is on one of my SATAs...so I don't plan on ripping that sucker out!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i dont have any experience with sata drives, so... u say thy are hot swapable, so u can pull out the sata cable and plug it into a different drive... but what about the power cable? is it safe to also unplug the power from the drive so u can remove it from the case?
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Moyer
Default

I had the same HDD (and same installation of Windows ) on a Asus AV8 Delux - K8T800 Via Chipset, and I never saw the remove hardware thing. Is it possible that the AV8 doesn't support hot swapping? It IS like the best AMD motherboard out right now, so I never considered that it wouldn't support hot swapping, that why the hardware remove dialog surprised me when I switched to an nForce 3 board.
Moyer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 03:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

As long as you use the "Safely Remove Hardware" control first, you're fine. Personally I haven't found many uses for hot-swapable SATA drives, since the drives I have pretty much stay put all the time.

As with any hot-swapable device, as long as it has been "detached" by the OS, all you're doing power-wise is unplugging it. If the drive is still crunching away, then it hasn't fully disconnected.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.