Sata vs pata question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2005, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Sata vs pata question.

Is sata that much faster/
__________________

ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 03:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Increased bandwidth, access times and space saving cables (sorta) ...

depends if you need that sort of thing.

http://www.findarticles.com/p/articl...22/ai_98977132
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

For PATA, the highest speed can go is 133MB/s while SATA is 150MB/s.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No SATA disk will reach 150MB/s. You can only benefit from it with RAID arrays. I think most SATA's are faster than IDE, especially the 10,000RPM ones.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

I am talking the 7200 sata and pata. I am comparing apples to apples for numbers.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

It depends on if you use more than one hard drive on an IDE channel. If you do, then they have to share the 100MB/s or 133MB/s bandwidth. On the other hand, when you use SATA, the HD has a dedicated 150MB/s that it doesnt share.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

AAHHHHHHH.. I see.
__________________

ingeborgdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.