sata troubles.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ox
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Default sata troubles..

hey..

i want to get my system running, so that the IDE hard drive boots windows, and just use my SATA drive as storage etc.,

its not letting me do it.... i dont know why... help please..

this is not my system, im just making this post for a friend, his specs are.


Asus K8VSE deluxe
athlon 64 3400
x800 pro.
SATA maxtor 120
and the ide one is a western digital 30 gig..
__________________

__________________
Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

What do you mean? Just install Windows to the IDE, and then format the SATA in Windows.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ox
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Default

no formatting..

i need the files off of both drives due to a recent crash.
__________________
Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Interesting, what file system is on the SATA? You may have to load the SATA drivers through DOS, and then copy all the files through DOS.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ox
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Default

fun......

and theres no other alternative?
__________________
Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Well if you can't retreive data on an already formatted drive in the OS which uses that format... you have a problem.

WHAT IS THE FILE SYSTEM!!!! If it is FAT32, you can convert it to NTFS i believe if you get hold of a Win2000 disk.

I mean it comes down to how important is the data? If you're ready to cough up 600-1000 bucks, get hold of a data recovery agency that can pull it off. But hey, once you format, you greatly reduce your chances of finding the stuff.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.