SATA Question: HDD, CD/DVD, RAID ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2004, 11:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default SATA Question: HDD, CD/DVD, RAID ??

Q1) I was wondering if I could put two 74 GB estern Digital 10,000 RPM Raptor's in RAID (Which type of RAID is best?), and if I can, how do I do this?
Q2) If I can put the two WD's in RAID, can I have a mass storage hard drive that is also SATA that is NOT in RAID in the system?
Q3) Will there be any compatability difficulties if I do have RAID, a mass storage Hard Drive, and then a Plextor SATA CDRW/DVDRW there too?

Note: I am planning this system on Nvidia nForce 4 SLI (Multi GPU), and that has 8 SATA connections, so no need to worry there...

Thanks in advance for help!

Yan N. Booth
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

A1) Yes, you can. You need a RAID controller to do this. Hook up the drives, and install drivers in XP. RAID0 (striping) is best for performance. RAID1 (mirror) is for backing up)
A2) Yes
A3) Dunno
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Thanks Major!
Q4) Do you think that I should opt for another 250 GB SATA Drive?

Anyone else know about Q3?

Thanks in advance, again

Yan N. Booth
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

A4)Why not. Depends on your budget.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
RAID0 (striping) is best for performance. RAID1 (mirror) is for backing up)
With RAID 1, does it make a copy on both drives? I know that in RAID 0 if one drive dies you may kiss your data goodbye, but what is the differance for RAID 1?

I like the idea of RAID 0, but I can't set up RAID before I install XP then?

Thanks a 3rd time in advance

Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

RAID0. The data is divided over both drives for faster acces/read/write speeds.

RAID1. A copy from disk A is saved on disk B in realtime. U screw it, don't lose it.

RAID0+1. Backs up 2 drives from a RAID0 array on 2 drives in a RAID1 array.

You need a floppy with drivers to install XP on a RAID configuration.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
RAID0+1. Backs up 2 drives from a RAID0 array on 2 drives in a RAID1 array.
So, could I have the 10,00 RPM drives in RAID 0, and then have the two 250 GB Hiatachi's in RAID 1 backing the RAID 0 drives up, AND acting as mass storage device?
Sorry about all the questions, but this is something I have been wanting to know for a long time, and I finaly found someone (you) that actually knows something about it!
TY
Yan Booth
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can if your motherboard (RAID controller) supports it. The drives need to be same size and you will only have 250GB, not 500. Should work. I am not a pro on this. Maybe someone else can give more info on setting up a RAID0+1
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Well, put it this way, is there any point bothering with RAID 0+1? Or would RAID 0 be fine?
Thanks
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would rather use RAID1 unless you need high performance. Or don't use RAID at all if you want to have more space.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.