SATA install problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2004, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default SATA install problem

i went to install my new 160 gb sata hdd yesterdday. everything went prettywell with the exception of one problem. in my bios i have several opitons when it comes to the integrated sata system. there is disabled, auto, combined, enhanced, and sata only. disabled is well, sata disabled. combined i think shows the sata drive as being an ide(effectively taking up one of your ide slots), enhnaced runs sata and ide for a total 6 channels, and sata only totally disables ide in favor of sata. my problem is this. the only way that i can seem to get it to boot to my new hdd is to run it in either sata mode or in combined mode. in the other modes it will not work properly. it will try to boot to my other drives. my intent is to run my old hdd's in conjunction with my new one for a while until i make the full switch. i have 2 ide hdd's and 2 cd drives that i want to run as well as running the sata drive. when i run it in combined mode it makes the sata drive take either primary master or secondary master ide slots. i havn't tried running it on secondary master as of yet, but with it on primary the only working ide device that i have is one of my cd drives. its just all f'ed up. any suggestions guys?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Consult your mobo manufacturer (by email if possible) on how to do this with the mobo you have. Some boards, I know, can't have both SATA and IDE running at once.

My current system has two SATA's setup as the primary boot drives, with 2 IDE HDD and 2 CDs setup as secondary. I didn't really do anything except setup the SATA chain as the primary in the boot order. Then again, my mobo is brand new...so the technology has evolved a bit since the "dark-ages" of SATA.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

my mobo is less than a year old so the tech is fairly up to date. as for the possibility of not being able to run both, neg. as i said in my first post, there is a setting called enhanced that allows you to run both ide channels as well as your sata channels. if one is avaliable i am going to try a bios update.
__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.