Sata and IDE sorry!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Sata and IDE sorry!!

Sorry for being such a noob, but I just built my first pc and I'm having trouble with the hard drives-- I read the post about setting up a RAID for the drive but I dont think that relates to my problem.

I have a 40 gig IDE running perfectly with XP installed on it, and a 160 SATA that seems to be recognized, however I cant seem to get it to boot and load into windows. The ide is plugged in the IDE connector (duh) and ive got the sata in the sata 1 slot on the mobo. I updated the bios and made sure to inable the SATA boot rom in the bios, but it still wont load.

Any Ideas?

system specs:

Asus K8V SE Deluxe
AMD 643400+
maxtor 40gb IDE
maxtor 160gb SATA
soundblaster audigy 2 ZS
BFG 6800U
__________________

Jeff687687 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Do you have your IDE with XP installed on it AND you have your SATA drive with an OS installed on it? That might be a problem in itself. Disconnect the IDE HD and see if you cant get the computer to boot just from the SATA drive.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

no, I only have the OS on the IDE that I have running. I haven't been able to do anything at all with the 160.

XP recognized and installed the drivers for a: "Win XP Promise RAID Console SCSI Processor Device" but I didnt notice that it changed
Jeff687687 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ok so what exactly happens if you have both plugged in?

Quote:
I have a 40 gig IDE running perfectly with XP installed on it, and a 160 SATA that seems to be recognized, however I cant seem to get it to boot and load into windows.
So you're saying with the SATA drive connected, even though you have your perfectly fine installed IDE drive, the IDE drive won't load into windows with the SATA attached? I don't know much about SATA but why would you need it to 'boot' anything, shouldn't it be somewhat like a slave? or is that not what youre after. Are you wanting your 40gb HD as your main windows hd and the 160SATA as just storage?
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

well it wasnt coming up under disk management, so I couldnt really work with it-- but I finallly found the right/better driver for my sata ports, and after some fiddling I've got it running

thanks for helping though--
Jeff687687 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol good job, I didn't do crap cause this is an unknown area for me. Congrats on getting it to work though
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.