SATA + IDE - Explain - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2008, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minhead
Posts: 2
Post SATA + IDE - Explain

Hi,
I'm in the process of looking for componenets to make a mid-ranged gaming pc, but will be using a combination of my old components and new ones (hard drives).

I definately need a 500GB HD, and am pretty sure that It should be a SATA drive (Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache is what I'm thinking), but I will also use my old one (a Maxtor 160GB HD - IDE, sorry don't know any more info), and was basicly wondering, would they work fine together? (By the way, the smaller drive will only be used for my OS, program/game files, and the 500GB one will be for all my files, music, video etc...

If you need to know the motherboard they will be connected to, here: Gigabyte GA-MA790X-DS4 AMD 790X (Socket AM2) PCI-Express DDR2.

So knowing this (plus ask if you need any other info), would it be fine, and what would I need to do, possibly in terms of steps, to connect them both to the motherboard, and have them set up correcty (e.g. buying cables).

Thanks, JDW
__________________

jackwacko_4 is offline  
Old 05-19-2008, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SATA + IDE - Explain

Yes, they will work together. Just set up the first boot drive in the BIOS as the 160GB one, and set it as Master. Then plug in your SATA drive into the first channel, load up the BIOS, and set the first boot HDD as the 160GB Maxtor drive. Should work just fine.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-19-2008, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minhead
Posts: 2
Default Re: SATA + IDE - Explain

Thanks, thats fine, and simple, just making sure really.

Just another question though, do new SATA hard drives (bought from overclockers.co.uk) come with their SATA cables, or are they bought seperately?
jackwacko_4 is offline  
Old 05-19-2008, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SATA + IDE - Explain

No problem.

If you buy OEM hard drives, they do not come with cables. Retail drives may come with them...can't remember for sure (retail also usually comes with manufacturer's software discs). OEM is usually cheaper, though, since there's less packing/no accessories (just the drive).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-19-2008, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SATA + IDE - Explain

The motherboard should come with plenty of sata cables.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 05:48 PM
IDE to SATA converter jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-23-2008 02:18 PM
IDE hard drive to SATA connector? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-29-2007 09:08 AM
Need adapter to connect IDE drive to SATA port on mobo. Mr. LL New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-24-2007 12:36 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.