SATA to EIDE conversion question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2009, 09:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Easiest thing other than Belarc or one of the other scanner softwares, go to Compaq's site and look up the Specs of the PC. It should tell you right there if it has PCI slots.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Open it up if you have it with you. There are only three possible slots it will have... well four, ISA, PCI, PCI express or AGP. ISA are large and tan, PCI are about 5 inches and white.

Did you run Belarc Advisor?

-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

here are belarc results:

Computer Profile Summary
Computer Name: Xptest (in WORKGROUP)
Profile Date: Friday, February 06, 2009 11:06:43 PM
Advisor Version: 7.2x
Windows Logon: bill

Click here for Belarc's System Management products, for large and small companies.

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600) Compaq Compaq PC
System Serial Number: 1X05DCTH20X0
Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
500 megahertz AMD K6 3D
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Compaq 0648h
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Compaq 686S4 07/25/2000
Drives Memory Modules c,d
9.99 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
1.22 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

WDC WD100AA [Hard drive] (10.01 GB) -- drive 0, s/n WD-WMA1C1177383, rev 05.05B05, SMART Status: Healthy 312 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot '0' has 64 MB
Slot '1' has 256 MB
Local Drive Volumes

c: (NTFS on drive 0) 9.99 GB 1.22 GB free
Network Drives
None detected
Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
local user accounts last logon
bill 2/6/2009 10:58:56 PM (admin)
local system accounts
Administrator never (admin)
Guest never
HelpAssistant never
SUPPORT_388945a0 never

DISABLED Marks a disabled account; LOCKED OUT Marks a locked account

Microsoft XPS Document Writer on XPSPort:
Controllers Display
Standard floppy disk controller
Primary IDE Channel [Controller]
Secondary IDE Channel [Controller]
VIA Bus Master IDE Controller Trident Video Accelerator Blade 3D/MVP4 [Display adapter]
ViewSonic 71-2 [Monitor] (15.7"vis, s/n JY91860770, May 1999)
Bus Adapters Multimedia
VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller (2x) ESS Allegro PCI Audio (WDM)
MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device
Standard Game Port
Communications Other Devices

D-Link DFE-530TX+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (rev.F)
Dhcp Server:
Physical Address: 00:1C:F0:0E:A1:E3
D-Link DFE-530TX+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (rev.F) - PCTools Driver
Gee Wally is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

I found a picture of what I am assuming is your motherboard, and it appears to have at minimum 4 pci slots.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
I found a picture of what I am assuming is your motherboard, and it appears to have at minimum 4 pci slots.
Thank you Charles and everyone else for helping me. I appreciate it.

Gee Wally is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 11:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
Hampton's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Has 1 AGP x2 and and has 4 PCI.. your best bet is to get a PCI card. the 4 white ones in this image are your PCI slots.

This image was found when googling your compaq 0648h

DFI K6BV3+/66 Screenshot


Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.

:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Internal Drive + External Enclosure/eSata, SATA to IDE Configuration Question Nicholae System Upgrades 2 10-17-2008 05:12 AM
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 04:48 PM
Question about hooking up my cables from PSU? desktop System Upgrades 1 02-05-2008 03:47 PM
Sata pci card question Whitedudegroove New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-21-2008 08:09 PM
SATA hard drive question RobertXYZ System Upgrades 5 01-17-2008 07:01 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.