SATA to EIDE conversion question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2009, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default SATA to EIDE conversion question

I have a SATA HD that I want to put in a motherboard that is roughly 10 years old so it will be plugged into a eide/ide port. Could you please tell me what I will need in order to accomplish this. I appreciate your help.

thanks
__________________

Gee Wally is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 08:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

a sata PCI card

Newegg.com - SATA II, SATA / IDE, SATA, Controllers / RAID Cards, Hard Drives
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
Philbar,

That is all I need to put in my older mobo and I will be good to go? Please let me know. Does a 10 to 11 year old mobo have a PCI slot?

thanks
Gee Wally is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

It most likely will...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Open it up and see. More than likely it will have at least one, but it may also have the old ISA slots as well. If you have a white slot on the motherboard that is around 4 to 5 inches in length then that is your PCI slot.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gee Wally View Post
Philbar,

That is all I need to put in my older mobo and I will be good to go? Please let me know. Does a 10 to 11 year old mobo have a PCI slot?

thanks
most likely, if not then i think you can find one's for ISA slot maybe.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

Cool. That is good to know if I decide to do this, that it is cheap to do. Thanks for the quick reply guys. I appreciate it. I will open it up tomorrow to see if it had PCI slot. Hopefully it will.

thanks

PS..... Is there some sort of software that i can use to see if my mobo has PCI slots?
Gee Wally is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

cpu-z will tell you the model of mobo.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

I think Belarc Advisor does.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default Re: SATA to EIDE conversion question

OK mobo is a compaq 0648h. How do I tell if it has PCI ports, please?

thanks
__________________

Gee Wally is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Internal Drive + External Enclosure/eSata, SATA to IDE Configuration Question Nicholae System Upgrades 2 10-17-2008 06:12 AM
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 05:48 PM
Question about hooking up my cables from PSU? desktop System Upgrades 1 02-05-2008 04:47 PM
Sata pci card question Whitedudegroove New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-21-2008 09:09 PM
SATA hard drive question RobertXYZ System Upgrades 5 01-17-2008 08:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.