SATA drive or Windows XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2004, 08:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default SATA drive or Windows XP?

Ok before every one reams me for not searching...I did! I tried everything that i could find about it and i'm not sure that it is the SATA HD but i thought i would post it and maybe someone could help. ok here goes...

Parts...
Western Digital 200GB SATA-150 (WD2000DJ)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
the rest is in my sig...

Anyway here is what i have done so far...I put together my PC and everything seems to work...i fought with the SATA drive and finally i thought got it to work...I installed the drivers and then selected my drive...it then began to copy windows to the hard drive. During the copying process it errored out on three files(don't remember the names) but every time i pressed Retry and it continued copying the files. After it's done copying the files it goes to start windows and then says "Windows cannot continue setup" or something like that. I'm lost what to do...I'm installing windows on an original CD and its PRO. If you have any other questions i'll try and answer them...i'll also try to get the file names if that will help at all.
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

ok i was thinking about it...

I have a 20GB POS HD that is using IDE. Would there be a problem installing windows on that hard drive and then ghosting it to my 200GB SATA HD? What do you guys think?
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

are you sure about your CD working well?

try copying the CD to some other drive, and see if the same errors are coming. as if yes, then means your CD must have some minute crack(s) which your Optical Drive in unable to read.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Is the SATA harddrive formatted in the NTFS file system? When I tried it, I had to put an old IDE drive with Win XP on it and use XP's disk utility to format the SATA drive into NTFS, then I got XP to load onto the SATA drive.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

ok...here are the answers to the questions...

yes its formated with NTFS

I changed the memory CAS in the Bios to what it is rated at so that might be the problem...i'll change it back to auto detect...and see if that works...if not i'll try taking out one of the chips...if not that then i'll try some of my dad's POS memory...lol

thanks for your help guys

Edit: I'll keep you guys posted...
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

AG3 you were perfectly right...even though my kingston was rated at a certain speed i dialed it down to what my Bios thought it should be and windows installed first try...thanks so much.......
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.