sata drive not getting drive letter in XP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 04:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yes, its south west britain. lots of beaches.

yea, i was the same, i came onto TF looking for answers for a problem, and i have been addicted ever since... good ol' TF. lol
i ran i google search looking for "tech computer forums", TF was the first on the list, and well, here i am.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

that's cool! yeah, i plan on staying. good to be in touch w/ folks such as yourself.

i enjoyed my stay in cornwall -- close to penzance. nice people, good times. beautiful at the very tip to the ocean!
__________________

decaman is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well im glad u could get ur sata drive to work cause i couldnt mix sata with pata at the same time soo ur one lucky mother
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

whats pata? i know sata is serial-ata, but what is ata also?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

just curious about why you were having a problem. i did this:
i installed a SATA host card so i could attach the SATA drive. i did this via a spare PCI slot. this means it did not take up a spot on the ribbon, even if i could find an IDE-to-SATA converter, which exists but which i dont like. so, that takes care of the SATA install (ignoring the issues above).

my new spare storaage is the PATA drive, a maxtor. i didnt know what PATA was either, but it says it on the back of the drive. to install that, i just made it the secondary on the ribbon and set it to slave.

that PATA drive is the one i saved all of my at-risk data to from the SATA drive. it's 200gb, and will remain in my computer.
decaman is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

oh. Parallel ATA = PATA. PATA's just the previous standard, the stuff IDE is on.

Duh.

Serial ATA, SATA.

http://www.seagate.com/products/cons...nterfaces.html
decaman is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

oh right. thanks for the link decaman.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

it didnt post my "duh, *me*, not you" add-on.
decaman is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

lol
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.