SATA does not work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2005, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Dutch
Default SATA does not work

Ok so im building a PC for my sister and im having some real problems with the hdd. I decided to get a SATA Seagate 80g for her.(this is my first experience with SATA hdd) Anyway no matter what I do I cannot install XP on this drive. It is recognized in startup but not in the installer. I flashed the BIOS and installed latest version....I also loaded up the RAID drivers (f6) while installing windows with no luck. I heard that you have to setup a RAID with these drives but i've never done that either. Can anyone help me sort this out. Here is a link to the mobo: http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...82E16813131518
__________________

Dutch is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You don't need to setup RAID, but you do need to install divers during Windows install. The hitting F6 part is correct, but you may have loaded the wrong driver. You don't need the RAID one, just the normal SATA driver.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Dutch
Default

I dont see anything about sata on this list:http://usa.asus.com/support/download...8S-MX&Type=All
I did try the RAID ones with no luck.
Dutch is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

what are your raid drivers called?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You don't want it from the asus site. The hdd should of came with a floppy. If not, go to the website of the hdd and get the driver and put it on a floppy.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
You don't want it from the asus site. The hdd should of came with a floppy. If not, go to the website of the hdd and get the driver and put it on a floppy.
sometime you have to copy file from the drivers cd to a bootable floppy
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Go to the seagate website, they have a ton of info on how to fix this problem. It's gotta be the SATA/RAID DRIVERS.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Dutch
Default

AH yes seagates website. Thanks for all your help, turns out I had to d/l a bootable floppy from seagate as well as new raid drivers. Anyway its formatting now so its all good.
Dutch is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 07:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

These little details can really aggrevate me when I forget them,
that is why Tech-Forums is so great.................

Glad to hear you got it figured out.
ImUseless is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 08:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Great info. I am an old skooler as well and havent had much interaction with installing windows on a sata drive so this is good info. Does anyone have a link that will give me the same driver options, but on a bootable CD rather than a floppy boot disk? thanks!
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.