SATA Conversion? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default SATA Conversion?

Right on my lovely new mobo I have a few SATA sockets... is there any way to convert my standard IDE HDs to work SATA? Is there an adapter cable or anything? If so would it be worth doing or would the sockets on the HD slow it all down?
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

you can get an ide to sata converter http://www.buyextras.com/coata66hadrt.html but i dont think there is any increase in speed
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah those adapters came with my ABit board. Using an HD benching program it only improved the 'burst speed' but not the constant read or write speed...and I don't even know what the burst speed does, sooo it's really not THAT worth it unless you want to hook up more HD's or optical drives.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

well am considering getting a third optical drive... which means i would have to disconnect one of my HDs or go sata
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well then a SATA adapter will suit your needs in this situation quite well
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

yeah and i have found a mini one that clips onto the back of the drive (takes up no room) for only £3.68 (about $6.80)

the only thing I dont know is will i have to format and reinstall to use my boot hd if i change it from IDE socket 1 to SATA socket 1 or will it make no difference as long as the bios knows where to boot from?
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.