SATA Cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default SATA Cables

ive been looking at a dfi mobo for socket 939 and i see these sata support and raid. i have just read up about what they are and stuff. What can you connect them to on your computer. and whats the purpose of them both.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Raid is the use of hard drives to speed up transfer rates, and SATA is the connection you use to do RAID. Anyways SATA is just a new way of connecting a hard drive to the computer for improved performance.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

so i can use the sata cable instead of the ata ribon cable.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

to the hard and is there even other componts that i can connect sata to or the harddrive is the only one.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea...and you mean IDE cable, the cable that connects PATA drives to the mobo. The harddrive is the only one i've seen so far that uses SATA. And you look like you have trouble w/ Hard drive specs (no offence meant) SATA2 is the next generation of SATA. SATA doubles the transfer rate and is backward compatible with SATA. SATA2 boards are good, but they shouldn't be the deciding factor when choosing a board.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You can't just decide to use a SATA cable dark. Your hard drive has to be a SATA drive. There are IDE to SATA converters out there though
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 09:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

http://www.pcmech.com/show/harddrive/296/
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea i dont know about harddrives that much when it comes to sata2 cabling. So i can only use the sata2 cable on a sata drive. Is it better to use the sataddrive then a ide harddrive.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 06:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Well.. that all depends. It has a higher max transfer rate 150 vs IDE's 133. And, thanks to those smart kids at MIT, you can take advantage of RAID. RAID can be used to mirror everything on two drives.. in case 1 drive craps out; it can be used to treat up to (4 I think) drives as one single drive. And it can do a few other things.. can't remember them all.

Is it that much better than IDE? Well, if you don't really have any interest in utilizing RAID then there's no reason to upgrade since, most likely, you're not going to notice the increase in transfer rates.
But, its all up to you
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.