Sata 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default Sata 2

Hi

I know that a sata2 harddisk can transfer data at 300 mbps My only question is that can man attach a SATA 2 hard drive to a SATA 1 connector and how much difference in performance can it make if i chose SATA 2 over SATA 1.
__________________

softhunder is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

It doesnt matter which kind of cable you use.. The limitation of harddrive throughput isnt due to the interface. Its due to the hard drive themselves. In order to pull 300mbps of data off a drive it would have to be spinning at about 50,000 rpm
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

But i m not talking about the connector. I m talking about Samsung spin point Sata2 harddsik . Its data transfer rate is 300 mbps and i was wondering if i could use it with my Asus P5AD2E Premium and if it would do any good to the speed of my system.
softhunder is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No. No current hard drive can even use up all the bandwidth in SATA1.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

then whats the point in releasing a SATA 2 drive?
softhunder is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Probably for the following reasons:

1) For n00bs who only look at numbers that really dont mean much of anything.

2) For future technologies that might be released that will make use of the bandwidth.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

and

3) to make money!
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will work, but there is no point in getting it. I would recomend getting a Seagate or western digital hdd.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by softhunder
But i m not talking about the connector. I m talking about Samsung spin point Sata2 harddsik . Its data transfer rate is 300 mbps and i was wondering if i could use it with my Asus P5AD2E Premium and if it would do any good to the speed of my system.
i guess what i was saying is... it doesnt matter because it isnt going to give you the performance you're expecting. So to answer your question, no. it will not help the speed of your system at all. A drive that get 75mbs on sata 1 is gonna get 75mbs on sata2.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 05:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Thanxx every body for the guidance. I ll try to stay alive on the forums.
__________________

softhunder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.