Sapphire Radeon x800 XT PE: Hands down, #1 VGA - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2005, 04:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

She won't notice, unless she deals with bills, then your little plan will have gone to hell...

Wish hardware would hit a plateau!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yan Booth
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 08:27 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Yea, when she sees $500 on a red board with a big fan attached to it :P
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 09:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can softmod the X800 pro and unlock the other 4 pipes
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 09:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Thats too risky. If I had the money for a new card immediately, I would attempt it, but if I fried my X800, I would be stuck with something like a 9200SE because of my lack of funds, and I don't want that.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 09:48 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Havoc, i also have the Sapphire X800 XT PE. I just built my system last night. I only played Halo with it. Very smooth game play. Will you be OC your X?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 10:00 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Why OC it? Its not like anyone would really need the additional power.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 10:16 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I thought about OC'ing mine just for fun before realizing that it wouldn't do me any good. I don't care if I'm getting 70 fps on max settings instead of 72 fps.

And about softmodding the x800 pro to xt. I have heard this only works with VIVO x800 pro cards and they have to be flashed with a gigabyte bios. I have also heard that it is very tricky and many people have ruined their boards attempting it. I personally would not consider it worth the risk.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 11:31 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I don't believe in all of the hype about AMD processors being better for gaming than Intel
It's not hype..it's fact. Check any benchmarks in games regarding the two flagship processors from both AMD and Intel and the AMD will win hands down. This isn't to say intels CAN"T play games or something because obviously a 3.6GHz EXTREME EDITION!!!! Intel is still going to be able to play games to the point where you won't notice anything..we're talking differences of like...5FPS in some instances.

But the fact is, AMD really is better for gaming
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.