Saitek Gaming keyboard being stupid... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default Saitek Gaming keyboard being stupid...

Or is it my motherboard?

Anyways, when I boot the computer, sometimes I need to open the BIOS. To do so I need to hit delete on the keyboard...but my keyboard doesnt work until the computer is turned on all the way to the OS.

But since I have dual boot running...I need to switch between Windows and Linux and to do that I have to go find another frickin keyboard and swith with that one.

This only happened when I put the DFI motherboard in that I have now...

W
T
F
?
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

its becuase saietek gaming keybords like my eclipse are USB, not PS/2. what you need to do is find a standard PS/2 keyboard and hook that up if you want to go into your BIOS or windows set up becuase MSDOS doesn't support USB. USB to PS/2 adapters don't work either (i've tried).
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

fark, that means I have to have a keyboard sitting next to me that i dont even use...at all times.

grr

Well thanks for letting me know that.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

It works for me. I think you need to update the BIOS.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Isn't there an option in the BIOS for it? I remember reading about it before.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Wudja look at that...

THERE IS!

"Enable USB Mouse Support" Enable it and VIOLA! Thanks guys
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.