Safely remove hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default Safely remove hardware

Hi, I have a component of my printer which I need for it to operate. My problem is that there is an icon in my system tray that wants to "Safely remove hardware" from my machine. How can I get rid of the message so it will stop appearing in the sys tray please?

TIA
__________________

24giovanni is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the only way is to unplug the printer (or any hardware it's listing)

I find that it doesn't actually do any damage when just unplugging it without going through the stop process.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 88
Default

It only damages when you unplugg USB Flash Drives it sorrupts the info it doesn't always happens but if the PC is synchroinizing with it it will corrput it for sure I've seen about three or four cases from friends of mine tha have done that.
PR Gamer is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you just make sure nothing is trying to access it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

yeh if anything is trying to use a flash drive wen u pull it out it either reformats your flash disk mor currupts half the files, not too much different to drooping it in a buket of water
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

To remove the icon in system tray, right click task bar, select properties, then at the bottom right click on customize, from there you can choose to permanently hide the icon, thats what i did because it just randomly appeared and wouldnt go away
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny_uk
To remove the icon in system tray, right click task bar, select properties, then at the bottom right click on customize, from there you can choose to permanently hide the icon, thats what i did because it just randomly appeared and wouldnt go away
...same here. It's really annoying! Sometimes it re-appears in the taskbar tray even though I've set the icon to hide, and I find myself having to re-hide it time after time.

With the whole USB drive and safe removal thingymajig, it should be fine to remove the USB drive without stopping the device in the safely remove hardware dialogue beforehand...so long as it's set to:



...in the properties of the drive in device manager.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 01:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

huh. that is a little weird. i never had that problem, maybe the stick resets itself or the hub, or when you restart the pc, but iono besides those
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.