Safe Temperatures? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2004, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Default Safe Temperatures?

Now that I've got my system (somewhat) stable, its time to overclock! What are safe temperatures for my CPU and video card (see sig for details), and how much should I be looking to overclock? Currently, my CPU is running 30 C at rest, 48 under load, but its really hot out today. I also have another case fan, and I'm going to buy a 3-pin splitter tomorrow so I can plug it in.

Thanks.
__________________

trs2988 is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Default

I also had another question I forgot to ask, and I figured I shouldn't make a new thread about it. Both my CPU fan and my case fan are running about 2500-3000 RPM, and my motherboard monitoring program is telling me this isn't good. How do I increase it? I would figure it had something to do with my power supply, but its a pretty good one. It's got 400W, and the amps for the 12V, 5V, and 3.3V are 25, 28, and 30 respectively. What can I do to increase the RPM?
__________________

trs2988 is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 02:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the max temperature for a P4 is about 55 degrees
if you want to overclock, I suggest getting a new fan like a Thermaltake because 48 is not far off the max temp
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 02:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to seCuredData Send a message via Yahoo to seCuredData
Default

What is the type of CPU HSF you have? Is it the stock that came with your Proccessor?

And 3000 is way too low for a Fan, Even 4000 is below average.

Even AMD's which can stand more heat start to die slowly when in the 50's C.

If the CPU HSF is stock there are a lot of fans that can fit on those heatsinks. Just replace it with a fan thats atleast above 3500.

Also reseat and reapply your Thermal Compound, on AMD's clean up around the core and put a thin layer on core, if P4 clean up around the Proccessors heatsink and reapply a thick layer in middle.

And I don't see a need for a splitter, why not just power it using the Power Supply instead of the motherboard? There should be a converter to do that; Or atleast one that came with the case fan.
seCuredData is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 03:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the RPM doesn't neccesarily determine the cooling efficiency
you can have 1 fan running at maybe 3,500 RPM that cools just as efficiently as another fan that runs at 4,500RPM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 07:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Default

The HSF is the one that came with the processor. I think what I'll probably do is keep the slow case fans that I have right now, but buy a better CPU fan since that seems to be most important.

As far as the splitter, I need either a splitter or a converter. The two fans I bought were both 3-pin, and the motherboard only had sockets for one system fan and one CPU fan. So, either one would work.

Do I really need to apply thermal compound? I was going to, but when I opened up the Intel box I saw that the heatsink already had thermal tape on it, so I figured that was just as good.

Finally, my core is Northwood.
trs2988 is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

If u want to overclock, make sure not to put too high temperature cos easy to burn especially graphic card.
Your fan running at 2000rpm really very slow, perhap u can clean the dust bcos if the dust too thick it can affect the fan speed.
Although your cpu came with thermal tape, is better 4 u to get a good thermal gel.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Should I remove the thermal tape, or just put on the thermal compound?
trs2988 is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 05:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default

If you really want to overclock your video card i would sujest the Giant III by thermaltake http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/chipset/a1919.htm
i know someone who uses this for overclocking his vid card and is extreamly happy with the results. I dont overclock but if i was going to i would probally use this for my vid card. I would also water cool my CPU if i wanted to overclock that.
__________________

studly is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.