S Video Displays (TV Out) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2008, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default S Video Displays (TV Out)

Hey guys,

Idk if this belongs here but their isnt really a video card forums soo here it goes.


I have 2 9800 gt s via SLI and I want to use S video to connect to my TV. I want to do this mostly to watch movies etc. But when I go to Nvidia control panel and switch to TV solo display not only does it port it in horrible resolution (which is fine because dvd play normally) but when I got back to my monitor it messes up my desktop badly. How do I avoid this?

Using Vista 32 bit BTW

heres some screens
________________________________
This used to be very orgainzed and its alot of work re doing it all



This is the menu were I can switch displays

__________________

Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 06:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

Well my first guess would be that your TV cant handle the same resolution that your monitor can. So that would be why things would look worse.

Moved to the hardware forum. This is not Windows based.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

Thats what I would say also, what monitor and TV do you have and also is there an option to set up graphics profiles so you can set one up for TV and thee other for the monitor?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

Yah my TV is crap but I have a 22 inch wide screen monitor that i run at 1680 by 1050 I just dont want to ruin my desktop every time it switches back to the monitor. Thats my biggg concern

Is their a work around that wont ruin or change my desktop?
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

Yeah. Dont send it to the TV. If that isnt a option then get a better TV. Those are the only options that will not ruin the desktop.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 09:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

what decides how a TV will display it. Whats a nice TV thats reasonably cheep with S video and will display my 1680x1050 resolution with out ruining it?


hmmm maybe this is crazy but is their a way to save your desktop layout in some way and load it up somehow?

I know it sounds crazy but iv stumbled across odder software
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 10:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

Well most HDTV's will tell you what resolution they can display. Just check around google, newegg, and local stores to see if one is in your price range that can meet your resolution requirements.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 10:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

ok as always thanks for your help...

hmmm maybe this is crazy but is their a way to save your desktop layout in some way and load it up somehow?

I know it sounds crazy but iv stumbled across odder software
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 10:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

The main thing is to not check the align to Grid option. Other than that i havent seen anything. But then again i dont have a single icon on my desktop.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 10:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: S Video Displays (TV Out)

ill try it thanks
__________________

Kozar927 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video cards lemonfrost System Upgrades 9 11-09-2007 02:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.