S-video to composite to TV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2005, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Question S-video to composite to TV

Okay, here's my problem, my other computer, which is a dell, A relatively good computer, with a relatively good graphics card, Im trying to hook it up to my TV to watch movies. Now I use an s-video to composite adapter, the run a 3m long RCA cord thingy to my TV. It kinda works, but is really really really sketchy, meaning like the screen will blink and zap and go down and down.. And i was wondering like what settings I could maybe use, or if its my cord.. or like what! please, any helpwould be appriciated because I have invested a pretty penny into this venture.. [I say that because im 15 and very poor lol]e

abstractstrife is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192

Hi there,

Check this out , i hope it will help answer ur Q


weswes is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

sorry if they are a bit big i cant seem to make them smaller. But this is what it looks like.. is it the cable? 3m long..
and the audio cable, makes a dim buzz noise.. loud actually. my dad says its dangerous..
abstractstrife is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

If of all, what type of videocard are you using? IF the videocard has s-cable outs, then you should be able to hook it up fine to a TV with S-Cable in's: Does your TV have S-cable in's? Most newer TV"s do.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 01:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

no the TV doesnt have S-video, which is why i got a s-video to composite adapter.

my card is like an nvidia ..420 something.. im not on it atm so i cant check but its not bad.
only has s-video .
abstractstrife is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.