S-Video Cable to TV? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2004, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default S-Video Cable to TV?

Hey,

I have an S-Video cable, and after purchasing a nVidia Ti4200 64 mb TV-OUT graphics card, I was wonder if I could and how would I be able to connect my S-Video cable to my television. Now, my television actually does not have an S-Video outlet, but my DISH Satellite box does.

Thanks for any information.
__________________

bjford is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

just connect, and change the out put in your nVidia drivers to TV, it will auto detect some other output if attached.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 09:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I just did that right now, but nothing has changed; the television still shows the Satellite channels instead of my computer screen (or does it only work if I have DVDs?).
bjford is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

i think u've to set ur TV as well. it has to show everything what u see on ur monitor.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

does the S-video port on the satallite box say its for input, or output? u cant use it if its only for output.

if u cant use the box, u can use a S-video to RCA acapter. of if ur one of those guys with a bunch of extra wires lying around(im guessing your not) u could cut some up and splice them together yourself.

no the TV out doesnt need to be used for anything specific, u should see your desktop on the TV.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 10:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default

It says simply "S-Video".
bjford is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

I can almost guarantee that it is anoutput, not an input(I have Satellite too). You need to buy a whole new TV set in order to put that S-video cable to use.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default Re: S-Video Cable to TV?

no need to buy a new TV, but the satellite won't work like that either. You can either use a video switch box or an adaptor like this:

http://www.cablestogo.com/product_li...a+to+svideo%29
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yea just head on down to a local futureshop, radioshak or other electronics store and ask for a svideo to rca (or some ppl call them composite) adapter... just to be sure one end will have a s video connector (female) and the other end will have 3 pins.. one yellow, one red, and one white.. get that hook it all up and put hte pins in the specified slots in ur tv and ur done
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.