S-ATA Driver Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default S-ATA Driver Question

Hi guys, I have just recently purchased a MSI K8n NEO2 Platinum and I have an S-ATA Raptor HDD and I don't plan to run a RAID set up, my question is the mobo came with a floppy and it reads "nforce3 SATA RAID Driver" and I was wondering is this a driver floppy for both SATA and RAID or strictly a SATA RAID setup? like when I'm installing XP and it asks me to press f6 would this be the floppy that I need to use to install the SATA driver?

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yessir it is the SATA drivers you need for the windows installation
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Ok, the two options that it gives to install is:
1. NVIDIA RAID CLASS DRIVER
2. NVIDIA NForce Storage Controller
Im not sure which to install, cause the thing Im unsure about is if this floppy is strictly for RAID. And if so I don't know how else I would get the driver for only ONE S-ATA HDD. If someone could please elaborate on installing this HDD and which drivers I need to install.
Thanks
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Number 2 will be the one you want Nice normal XP installation as soon as those drivers are installed.

It is a pain having to instal those sata hdd's as I don't own a floppy, so I have to burrow one, usually from the school.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.