Running SLOW! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 06:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

celeron 550 and windows me. there is your problem!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 91
Default

I have, right now, AMD 750 and ME, and mine runs really slow. People would even recommend 98SE over ME, as long as you have the unnofial service pack, which I don't have a clue what it is, as I have a copy of XP for my new pc and wont be needing my 98 disk
__________________

Keaton is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 07:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Zolxy,

What brand is your computer? Or, if it is custom built, what is your motherboard?

If you don't know, download Belarc Advisor (((Link to download Advisor))). It's free, so don't sweat it. Run it, and print the results.

Go to the manufacturer's website and look up the specs for your motherboard. Look for the socket type and the maximum supported CPU size. This way , you know if you can upgrade your CPU, and you know what you can upgrade to.

If upgrading is not a viable solution (max CPU, obsolete parts), check out the inventory at Retrobox.com (http://retrobox.com/rbwww/home/searc...p?bin_id=world). The selection may not be cutting edge, but their prices are low enough to justify buying a system for your new hard drive. All of the computers come without an OS, but you already have ME.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 75
Default

U need a better processor, ram, and video card. With all that no laggs at all.
WARLORD88 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 07:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

oh well.... i know you people are right... my computer is not that modern.. but the thing is that.. when i had the old 20 gb hardisk working fine... and after upgrading to this 80 gb even baracudda why its more slower than that?
zolxy is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 07:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Trotter here is it!


Operating System
Windows Millennium Edition (build 4.90.3000)

Processor a
550 megahertz Intel Celeron
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
128 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Main Circuit Board b
Board: i810-W83627
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Award Software International, Inc. 6.00 PG 07/06/2003

System Model
(No details available)

Memory Modules c,d
64 Megabytes Installed Memory
Slot 'A0' has 64 MB
Slot 'A1' is Empty
Slot 'A2' is Empty

Drives
79.91 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
67.32 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
HL-DT-ST CD-ROM GCR-8521B
Generic IDE hard disk drive (79.91 GB) -- drive 0, No SMART Driver

Controllers
Standard Floppy Disk Controller
Intel 82801AA Bus Master IDE Controller
Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)

Display
Intel(r) 82810E Graphics Controller 4.12.01.2604 [Display adapter]
Default Monitor

Bus Adapters
Intel(r) 82801AA USB Universal Host Controller
zolxy is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 12:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WARLORD88
U need a better processor, ram, and video card. With all that no laggs at all.
especially the processor and ram.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.