Running Out Of Space! - Please Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 06:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste Disk Clean up.
Defragment.
What does this do? And theres no chance i'll lose anything right? I know how to do it but ive never done it before.

Thanks for the replys everyone, cheers.
__________________

Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 06:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Defragmenting just "organizes" your data. You don't lose a thing.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 07:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Defragmenting just "organizes" your data. You don't lose a thing.
What do you mean 'organizes'? It dosn't change anything visually does it? Like moves things around where i cant find? I know i sound like a dafty but i just dont like taking risks..im paranoid!

And what does 'Disk Clean Up' do? I wont lose anything by doing that either..right??

Thanks for the help once again.
Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 02:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Parky-RFC
What do you mean 'organizes'? It dosn't change anything visually does it? Like moves things around where i cant find? I know i sound like a dafty but i just dont like taking risks..im paranoid!

And what does 'Disk Clean Up' do? I wont lose anything by doing that either..right??

Thanks for the help once again.
After you add/remove data to your hard-drive a lot, you create fragmented pieces. Defragmenting basically goes in and removes those pieces. You will not lose any data.

I recommend you download a program to do it, as the Windows one sucks.


Also, don't buy a Maxtor hard-drive, sorry Maxtor fans. Western Digital is good, and Seagate is excellent. If you want a drive that lasts forever, make it a Seagate.

You may want to pick up a SATA controller card. They're only like 12 - 15$ (or can be more expensive, it depends on what you get) so that you can buy a faster and cheaper SATA hard drive.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 08:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Think of defragging as lots of cookies on a table spread out, after defragging is done all the cookies will be together in a circle rather than spread out over the whole table, hence the pc should perform abit better as the files are closer together and in order, its impossible to lose anything though
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 08:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

defragging does not change the directories (folders) that files are in
defragging just organises their physical location on the hard disk platter, so it can access the files faster

anyway, just get a 400GB Seagate Barracuda

once you put it in, go to start -> run -> "diskmgmt.msc"

from there, you can format your new drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 07:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks again for the reply's people, very much appreciated.

On the first page, 'Ste' recommended me to buy and internal hard drive & an external enclosure. Why should i not just buy an external hard drive?

Whats the advantages of buying an internal hard drive & an external closure.

Why shouldn't i buy an external hard drive just on itself?
Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

More expensive, and if the external hard drive burns out you have to toss everything. If the internal HD burns out you'll have to buy a new drive and stick it in the enclosure. HDs get hot, problem with an external enclosure is that they don't let out enough heat.

You should be able to use 2 HD's in your computer, but I don't believe this will solve your problem. If your worried about losing data then dvd writer might be a better solution for you, 4.7 gb dvd's are dirt cheap, and are more durable, and last longer then all the HD's I've had. If its files your using alot then dvd isn't the best solution.
Sui is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

I've got an external hard drive (160 GB Western Digital), and it performs wonders when backing up my music, games, and warez (<- yea i know).

I would recommend what Ste said, if you do that you'll also be able to unplug it and take it and use it on another computer with relitivly no hasle, you dont even have to reformat to do so. Aside from not taking up space inside the computer thats the real beauty of them
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 03:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Just going to throw this out there, because I too don't want to lose any of my data, so I have up and done something about it.

If you want to spend a little bit more money, you can have better data security. If you look in my sig, "The NAS Box" is MY data security. It has dual 500 Gig drives running in RAID1. That means that I have 500 Gig of space in the enclosure, and the drives are mirrored. When I look at the drive in Window Explorer, it looks like it is just one drive... the DNS-323 automatically mirrors the data onto the second drive, so that in the event of a drive failure, I have an EXACT DUPLICATE of the data on the second drive.

Sure, it costs more, My setup was about $525 for the enclosure & the drives, but it will be WELL WORTH it. You don't even have to use a 500 Gig drive, you could use any 2 drives, but the mirrored portion will only be as large as the smallest drive.

Good luck!!
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.