Running Out Of Space! - Please Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2007, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default Running Out Of Space! - Please Help

Hey everyone, brilliant forum you have here! I know you probably get alot of people who register just to ask a question and then they bugger off, well i dont intend on doing that! So please..help me here, it would be greatly appreciated.

I have got around 6GB worth of space left on my hard drive (which wont last long!) so im thinking of buying a new one and some advice would be very helpful.

What should i do? Should i go for an internal or an external hard drive?

Im willing to spend £100 ($195 USD).

Whats the best hard drive in the market today? (In that price range)

I know that certain hard drives wont be compatible for my computer so i'll post some details.

My PC is a Dell Dimension 4600.

Disk Type : Hard Disk
Peripheral Type : ATA
Model : WDC WD800BB-75FRA0
Free Space : 8%

Drive Information

Volume Name : Unspecified
Serial Number : B00D-6E99
Files Name : 255
File Management : NTFS
Volume is Compressed : No
Case Sensitive Search : Yes
Preserves Filename Case : Yes
Unicode Filenames : Yes
Access Control List : Yes
Named Streams : Yes
Object Identifiers : Yes
Reparse Points : Yes
Sparse Files : Yes
User Disk Quotas : Yes
Individual File Compression : Yes
Encryption : No
Share : No

Logical Features

Sectors per Cluster : 8
Bytes per Sector : 512
Cluster size : 4 KB
Free Clusters : 1603219
Total Clusters : 19516966

Physical Features

Cylinders : 9726
Heads : 255
Sectors per Track : 63
Bytes per Sector : 512

Hope thats the correct information, if not just say and i'll sort it out.

Cheers!
__________________

Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Delete stuff you don't want.
Disk Clean up.
Defragment.
For files you dont use often but still want to keep you can use Winrar to compress them.

As for the harddrive, it may be easier to buy a internal drive and an external enclosure. If you like carrying your data Around that is.

Seagate 400 GB ATA

As for the enclosure just search around the site you want to order from.
Make sure its an enclosure for 3.5' Drives and that its internal connection is ATA.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Delete stuff you don't want.
Disk Clean up.
Defragment.
For files you dont use often but still want to keep you can use Winrar to compress them.

As for the harddrive, it may be easier to buy a internal drive and an external enclosure. If you like carrying your data Around that is.

Seagate 400 GB ATA

As for the enclosure just search around the site you want to order from.
Make sure its an enclosure for 3.5' Drives and that its internal connection is ATA.
Thanks for the reply! Im not very smart when it comes to computers so im slightly confused here.

When you say..it maybe better to buy an internal hard drive and an external closure does this mean it can be used as an external hard drive??

What im trying to say is..could i remove my current (almost full) 80GB hard drive, replace it with this: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...273390&CatId=0 ,
create some space and use my 80GB one as an external hard drive by buying an external enclosure for it?

Sorry if i sound like a dafty but this is just not my subject. Help appreciated.
Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yes.

Yes, but youd have to format and install the OS on the new Drive.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Yes.

Yes, but youd have to format and install the OS on the new Drive.
What is OS? And how would i go about doing it? Sorry for my lack of knowledge!
Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Operating System. Ya know, the thing you use all the time to do stuff.

You would need the OS Disc that came with the computer. And if you don't have one, gotta buy one. If you want to put the OS on the new Drive.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

OS - Operating System! Lmao!!!

Doh!!!

I get you now, but that sounds like alot of hassle and complicated..well for me anyway!

I think i'll just buy that 400GB hard drive, an external enclosure and use it as an external hard drive. I take it you get the cables ect when you buy the external enclosure, it just plugs into your USB port right?

Then i will be able to transfer all my files over to the external hard drive so i have a back-up.
Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Iwhy not just buy and install another internal hard drive, it would save all the hassle, unless you want another so you can use it(or your old one) as a backup drive
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny_uk
Iwhy not just buy and install another internal hard drive, it would save all the hassle, unless you want another so you can use it(or your old one) as a backup drive
Thats exactly it, im running out of space but i also want to back-up all my files because if i lose them now i will probaly burst into tears!

Im just not sure the best way to do it, i would like a good reliable hard drive with lots of storage and the link that 'Ste' supplied a few posts above looks good.
Parky-RFC is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I would just get a Seagate Barracuda 10th gen and put it in an external enclosure.

Externals are the *********
__________________

SteveMKIIDub is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.