Running an FTP behind a HUB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2003, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 44
Question Running an FTP behind a HUB

Do any of u guys know if its posible to run an FTP while your behind a HUB? I've been having troubloe uploading files

I use cable, but my computer is conected to a hub, that is conected to a computer that is finaly conected to a cable modem

I have a diffrent IP than the gateway computer, but still Im almost never able to make transfers, and sometimes games think Im behind a firewall and Im not able to play them online at all (my pc and the gateway pc have their windows xp firewall deactivated)

Is there any way around this?

Sparda_X is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

Assuming you're using WinXP ICS on the gateway PC, just go to properties for the cable connection, go to the "Advanced" tab, click settings, and put a check beside "FTP Server". It'll open up a dialog box where you just put in the name of the comp running the server, and you're set. If your ftp server doesn't use port 21, just add a new service instead of checking "FTP Server".

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211

what port does iis use. I would assume it is port 21 it is built into windows.
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 04-09-2003, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307

The hub is not the problem. I would be willing to bet that the gateway computer you are talking about is actually acting more like a router than a gateway.

I assume you are trying to run the FTP server from your pc. In order to do this the computer that is acting as your gateway or router needs to have the ability to forward ports. For instance if your IP is and you are running an FTP server then the gateway or router computer needs to know that it should forward all packets it recieve heading to port 21 to the IP

This is the same thing you must do for your games, as each game uses a specific port number. I would suggest downloading router software so that you can place your PC's IP in a DMZ zone. That or you will need to open ports 1-65500 on the gateway computer for your IP.
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.