Run OS on external HDD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2009, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 48
Default Run OS on external HDD?

Can I set up an external HDD to run an OS(Vista 64bit)? Ive been using Vista 32bit, I just got Win7 64bit but NetGear hasnt released any network adapter drivers. I can get OS's for free from school so I figured I have an extra external and I'd like to put Vista 64 bit on it. Would that be possible/and or worth it? I would be booting Vista 64bit off a USB as well.

-external is a Seagate FreeAgent"Desk USB 2.0
-motherboard supports Sata2 & USB 2.0 (Biostar-TP45HP)

Thanks,
__________________

Wizdumb is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

Yes, as long as you set your bios to boot from the USB HD you should be able to do that. I have never run windows off an external hard drive, but I assume there will be a bit of a noticeable delay.
__________________

__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

I have found that windows does not like being installed on External Hard Drives.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

I agree with Keyboard Cowboy, and if you think about it, the transfer rate wouldn't be as fast when the CPU and OS are not in closer proximity. The CPU would always be toe-tapping, like, "hey Windows, are you there ?"
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

Sorry but no. Vista has the option removed to install it to a External device just as Win7 does. You can force it but all you are doing is creating problems for yourself.

Straight answer is this. If you do you will have to constantly mess with the boot loaders. Since every time you reset the boot loader will not fine the external device to be the EXACT SAME drive/partition and so on as it was previously. So you will get a boot error. You will then have to go in, manually adjust it for that boot, and then boot to the external.

Even if you leave the external device plugged in all the time, there will be issues. They only multiply when you remove the drive, power down the device and so on. It would be FAR easier to just partition your internal drive and dual boot properly.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

Apparently windows does not like to be installed to an external drive. I was basing my opinion on my experience with linux...which can be installed on an external drive/usb thumb drive.
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

No, I did it a few times with xp. there's even a micro xp client specifically for that purpose.

However, Mak summed it up nicely. Vista and windows 7 do not support booting off a removable device.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 11-08-2009, 10:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by masteroc View Post
Apparently windows does not like to be installed to an external drive. I was basing my opinion on my experience with linux...which can be installed on an external drive/usb thumb drive.
Yes Linux can do this easily. Windows is a bit more difficult. XP had this option but even then it was quirky. It only gets more complicated with Vista/Win7 due to it not being available by default so you have to modify it to allow this. Add into that the BCD doesnt like External Drive assigning only adds to the complication.

I just wanted to clear up the information provided. After working extensively with Vista and Win7 since they were both Betas i have tried an failed at this many times.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-09-2009, 12:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

Well its settled. I'll buy another HDD, thanks yall.
Wizdumb is offline  
Old 11-09-2009, 01:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Run OS on external HDD?

I put gOS on my old USB stick (2gb). It's realy nice OS i like it. If you just need it for the wireless network gOS is for you.
__________________

tance_bt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Problem with RVHOST.EXE chanchan05 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 18 10-23-2009 12:47 AM
hijack this log gula187 HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 10-01-2009 08:12 PM
Need Help! HJT Log Marchand198 HijackThis Logs (finished) 6 02-15-2009 11:44 AM
plz analyse this log and advise, I have boot\BCD problem hphv0077 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 12-28-2008 11:14 PM
Spyware removal ideas? Nate90 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 09-18-2008 11:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.