run a dll as an app......... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2003, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default run a dll as an app.........

Hello,
In properties-display-advanced, when I try to access my card cards adavanced properties for FSAA, D3D etc etc, I get the following error msg,

"Run a DLL as an App has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

AppName: rundll32.exe AppVer: 5.1.2600.0 ModName: nvcpl.dll
ModVer: 6.14.10.4523 Offset: 000b9c90"

Here are my spec's:

AMD AthlonXP 2500+
512mb ddr400
Aopen Geforce4 ti4600
Windows XP pro

The problem has only started occuring recently, so I would assume that it software related, and re-installing the cards drivers are not helping matters, any help would most appreciated, thanks.
__________________

archeon is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 393
Send a message via Yahoo to ravenmadtaoist
Default

Just a few questions/suggestions for you to contemplate...

Have you done a complete uninstall of the drivers first so that you can make a "clean" install of the drivers? I have found that this can make a difference.

Also, it might be prudent to make sure you have the latest DirectX from MS.

If possible, when you obtain Xp drivers for your vid card, use a ".exe" file as opposed to a zip. I've found this makes a difference too after installing a similar card on a friend's system

I'm no expert but I found this worked for me Good luck
__________________

__________________
Life is a terminal sexually transmitted condition. There is no known cure & we are unable to determine how long you will have to live.
LDMS

What am I??? Flypaper for freaks????!!

My mood today is...<a href="http://www.imood.com/users/Ravens_Tears"><img src="http://moods.imood.com/display/uname-Ravens_Tears/fg-330066/trans-1/imood.gif" alt="The current mood of Ravens_Tears at www.imood.com" border="0"></a>

:o 68.63905% - Geek God(dess):o
[The Geek Test]
ravenmadtaoist is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what drivers did you install?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default problem solved

All it took was a full driver wipe and re-install, however it didn't go smoothly, 2 be honest I'm suprised it worked, but everything seems to be fine, thanks very much to those who shared their words of wisdom, perhaps one day I might get the oppertunity to repay the favour.
archeon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.