Router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2003, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to kmodd
Default Router

A firewall caused by a router is prohibiting me from playing certain games and sharing files with others. This has become very annoying. any help would be appreciated.

P.S. The router is a Linksys if that makes a difference. Please post back.
~Kevin~
__________________

kmodd is offline  
Old 10-10-2003, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default Re: Router

Quote:
Originally posted by kmodd
A firewall caused by a router is prohibiting me from playing certain games and sharing files with others. This has become very annoying. any help would be appreciated.

P.S. The router is a Linksys if that makes a difference. Please post back.
~Kevin~
There is no way to disabled the built-in firewall in routhers, so what you have to do is access the router setup and open the port the game uses

Example:

__________________

__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-12-2003, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

Welllllll...if your router has the DMZ host option, you CAN use that, but that leaves your computer vulnerable to all kinds of nasty SoBig and Blaster worm-esque attacks, so i would recommend the port forwarding that Vile suggested.
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 10-12-2003, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yeah i agree don't use that DMZ host option. when i tried it on my linksys router i got the blaster worm after 5 minutes after i set my machine on the DMZ host, not cool. port fowarding is all you need for setting up games, ftp/ http/ mail servers.
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.