THe right way to overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default THe right way to overclock?

on my comp (in sig), i can't overclock anything past 210 fsb,; anything past that i just either get some error such as hard drive not detected or it just freezes at the validating dmi pool (or something like that)

do i have to bump up my fsb slowly? do i have to do something with the ram?

or maybe it's my ram's problem (the people at anandtech said ram has nothing to do with the cpu's OC)?

i'm using

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-310&depa=1

and it's 2.5-4-4-8 stock
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

You need to lock your AGP/PCI bus. They cant handle anything over 40MHz. Stock is like 33MHz. Raising your FSB also raises those. Locking them will only allow the FSB and DRAM clocks to raise, which is good. My mobo wont allow me to lock the AGP or PCI bus, so I can only OC to 142MHz. You'll have to look into your BIOS for that feature.
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ah, thx a lot
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Not a prob, although, I do need to give some credit to Nubius for that info!
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Aright gettin credit without posting! hehe

Even with the AGP locked, I'm sure that RAM will hold you back. I know I've told you this in another thread but those are horrible timings for PC3200
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.