Right Clicking Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
RZ4
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default Right Clicking Problem

Just yesterday, I realized that whenever I try and right click on any file (within or separate from a folder), instead of having the usual right click menu come up, it stops, and everything on the screen disappears, and after a couple seconds, I'm kicked back to my desktop.

The weird thing is, if I right click on any individual folder, this doesn't happen, and the menu comes up normally. And some of my shortcuts on my desktop are actually accessible with right clicking, but most aren't. Any file though, be it an mp3, or a Word document or a video file - the menu after right clicking on them never appears, and it always sends me back to the desktop. Another thing to note, even when I use the right click key on my keyboard (next to the Windows key on the right side), it still garners the same result, which is kind of interesting, and makes me think that the problem very likely isn't with just my mouse.

I have no idea what the problem could be, but it happens on all of my user accounts in Windows XP, and only within the Windows Explorer environment (other programs, internet, etc. the right clicking is completely fine). I have a Dell Logitech Optical Wheel Mouse, and I even went through the trouble of opening it up and completely cleaning out any dust I could find between the creases. I then downloaded and installed the appropriate Logitech drivers from their site, after uninstalling my current drivers. Neither of those things helped at all. And the same result occured with the Microsoft Intellipoint 4.0 drivers.

I would greatly appreciate any input or advice at all about this problem. Thanks in advance.
__________________

RZ4 is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

which mouse u r using?

Logitech?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
RZ4
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

It's a Dell Optical USB Mouse.

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/i...s/310-4073.jpg

But the thing is, I kind of think that it's more of a software problem than a hardware one, given what I said before about the right click key on the keyboard and all.

Either way, I just did a full system scan with Ad-Aware SE, and Spybot and found nothing, so that takes care of that. Yet the problem is still there.
RZ4 is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

why not simply re-install ur windows? get rid of the root of problem.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default

does it do that in a program or on your desktop?
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if your Dell mouse came with any software, uninstall it, it may have added things to the menu which for some reason are not working
Windows should operate your mouse without the software

if that doesn't work, try a repair install to rewrite any .dll's that may be causing the problem
reboot, put in the XP CD, press enter at the first screen, and go through until after it says "checking for previous versions of Microsoft Windows" then press 'r'
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

My daughters computer does that when i double click on the mouse left click.Im just going to format and reinstall windows XP Ive tried to fix it for a few weeks.Gave up.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.