Retrospect Express - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Retrospect Express

Hi
I just bought an external hard drive with USB and firewire. I am backing up my hard drive on the external drive. I found out that the USb transfer speeds vary between 700 MBp minute(yes minute) to 3 MBp minute(yes minute), why is it so, i mean at 3 MBpm it is gonna take eons to make my hard drive up.

I got a WD Media Centre 160 Gig, i was wondering what happens if i turn of my hard disk without disconnecting the USB port.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, dont you have firewire on your computer? that would be MUCH faster . . .

also, do you have usb 1.1 or 2.0?

dont turn off the hard disk when your computer is accessing it . . . if youre using XP, then disable the device first, then turn it off
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default firewire

Hi
I just bought an external hard disk which has both USB and firewire. The firewire wires are as shown in picture 1 whereas the firewire ports on the motherboard are shown in picture 2. How do i connect the two together. even the motherboard has two different types of firewire connectors.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image1.jpg (9.2 KB, 9 views)
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

and image 2
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

I am not sure how to use the firewire option as described in the previous two posts.

i have got usb 2.0.

what do you mean by disable the drive, you mean using the "usb: safely remove hardware "?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ok from both pictures you've showed I didn't see a firewire link. If its external there should be an external firewire port on the outside of your computer just like a USB. This is a fire wire plug

http://www.vittoni.it/catalog/images/1394-6M4M-018.jpg

Hope you can see it. But the connectors are tiny
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i think those are firewire headers, not ports

can you give us the specs?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

you mean the stuff in picture 2?
the two headers in picture 2 with F1_1394 and F2_1394 written on them are firewire headers not ports then?

my mobo is a gigabyte 81875 ultra

what do i need to do to convert my headers to ports?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

umm, the easiest thing actually would be to get a firewire pci card . . .

or a firewire/usb 2.0 card .. .
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

do some googling and look for some sort of adapters. Just do a search on like Firewire Adapter or something to that effect and see what you come up with. Cause firewire is somewhat like USB in that its just a little cord to plug in. Thats how my little mp3 player works. Although yeah I realize a HD would be a little diff.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.