retail computers, no ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default retail computers, no ram

this is probably a stupid question, but...

why do retail stores that sell computer always have large hard drives (usually 80 gigs and up) but put low memory in their computers? It seems stupid, why have a large hard drive when there's no memory to run programs?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Because drives are cheap, memory isn't
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I agree with BASSMASTER, and i'd like to add that it's a marketing thing. It is cheaper for computer manufacturers to add more hard drive space, rather than RAM, and the average user doesn't look at or even know what the RAM is. BUT they do however look at the size of the hard drive. Also, if the standard amount of RAM on a certain model of computer is 128MB, the company can probably charge about $100 to upgrade from 128MB to 256Mb, and the average user wouldn't think anything of it. I've noticed Dell to do this the most.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

ok
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Actually 512 sticks are cheap, and 200GB+ HD's are a little bit more expensive.

I agree, it is a stupid idea, but a lot of retailers like to market to the home user instead of the multi-app/gamer.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

first of all, 80 gig hard drives are TINY now, you can get 300gig ones for cheap now (if you know where to get the good deals)

second, it's all marketing; which sounds better to the average joe who doesn't know anything about computers:

a.) 80 gig hdd, 1 gig of ram
b.) 250gig hdd, 512mb ram

probably the 250gig...
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.