It restarts when i shut down. ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2005, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default It restarts when i shut down. ...

Hi,
You can see my rig in my signature. This pc just restarts when i shut it down so i have to turn it off from the power supply every time i shut it down. Thats strange cauz i ve checked in Bios and i couldnt find any thing which could affect this restarting. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

do you mean when u go start... shutdown...

try clicking restart, and see if it shuts down.

what os do you have?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

I have win xp pro and i dont get this problem.
Sometime it just shuts down but then wakes up after sometime by itself but normally it acts like i just pressed restart just the gap between shutting down and starting is a little more than normal restart. I have no clue about that
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Its working fine in every other way, The only problem is that i cant keep it off. I have to use the button on the power supply when its turned off otherwise it turns on after a few seconds but the strange thing is that sometimes it just turns off without any problem even though it happens rarely. Any syggestion?
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Right click "My Computer" on your desktop or go into control panel and look for the icon that says "System"

If you right clicked my computer then hit "Properties"

Click on the tab that says "Advanced"
Click the button that says "Settings" in the box that says "Startup and Recovery"
You'll see a checkbox in the next dialog box that says "Auotmatically Restart" in the "System Failure" box. Uncheck that box.

See if your system crashes when you shut down.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I would also check to see if you have spyware/shareware running in the backgournd. It "won't shut down" or "always restarts" may be a background program that is univited!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

did you build the computer yourself? you may have wired the buttons wrong and that could cause shut down to restart when you push the actual button on the case. Otherwise its probibly a mobo problem.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.