Restarting Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2004, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default Restarting Problem

I have a dell computer with 1 ghz celeron processor and 60 gig hard drive... ntn fancy... but ya half the times i restart the comp now it just goes to a black screen and never boots... and when u restart 3 or 4 times then itll boot rite once... and everything id fine until you restart the computer again
any ideas?


I didnt know if i should post this on software or hardware so ill take my chances with hardware

Please do NOT cross post or double post your messages..Thanks===MicroBell
__________________

BobbyBaby is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Or the mobo. This is what happened when my mobo went out.
__________________

ebolaosu is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

does the power stay on instead of restarting, if so it sounds like a motherboard fault
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

disable APCI in the bios see if that helps.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default

yes the power stays on on the mother board its just a black screen on the monitor but its lit... im a new to this so help me what is psu and apci
BobbyBaby is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 09:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yeah, disable it. sucker causes many problems. just noticed I put in APCI.. oops...
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 12:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default

the monitor light stays green the mother board is lm810e hope that helps any! and i think its an on board video card
since the monitor hooks to the motherboard itself and no other slots
__________________

BobbyBaby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.