restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2004, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default restarting

when I go to start and click shutdown restart it goes into sleep mode.If I download a program and it says windows must restart now it just goes into sleep mode.Can someone tell me why?

kennynla is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807

What is your OS dude.

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9

Dude I dont even know what OS is.I know nothing about computers.
kennynla is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195




.. its the big logo that displays across your monitor when you start up your comp?
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

Operating System. Such as windows xp, windows me, linux. Or even MAC version 6,000
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9

its Windows ME.....sorry
kennynla is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256

...probably one of the buggiest operating systems ever. try to get windows xp. PLEASE. anyways this is probably the result of spyware. download ad-aware from
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9

Ty that solved my problem

kennynla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.