Restart Issue with AOpen AK86-L mobo? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2004, 12:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Unchecked the "reboot on error" box, still happened. Oh well, can't say I didn't try. I also ran Dr. Watson, no errors. There is also no mention of system restarts in the events log.

I just downloaded a diagnostic tool for my hard drive off of Samsung's web site, and am about to go run it. I'll post and let you know what happens with that.

I know its not a virus/malware issue
I have kept my computer clean of that junk since day 1.
__________________

static86 is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

are u sure that u applied the as5 properly? ive seen a lotta cases when its not been applied properly (usually too much as5 on the chip)... and that causes heat issues as well..
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what power supply have you got?
it may be that the PSU is not supplying enough power to your components
or try and find out the temperatures, especially of the CPU. Like Nubis said first, it could be overheating, and restarting to prevent damage
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

or maybe as a last resort have u tried zero filling the whole hd? then u can install windows.. thats what i do when i have no other choice lol.. n ud be surprised how many times its worked lol
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 10:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

I have a 520W power supply that I just bought and installed a few days ago. Its an Aspire I think, and it has the UV protection on it. I got it off NewEgg. So, power shouldn't be the issue.

We applied the Arctic Silver just as described, with only a small amount, and then twisting the heat sink down to spread it. When done, it looked just like the picture. I tried reverting the BIOS to an earlier version as somebody suggested on another forum (worked for them) and I still got a restart. So, appears I'm stuck again.
__________________

static86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.