Resetting Bios without Video - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2003, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Default Resetting Bios without Video

I recently upgraded a from a PCI to a AGP card. When I installed it, nothing came up, so I changed a setting in the BIOS to boot from AGP, now no video cards work and I can't see the BIOS to reset it, any ideas?

PS I have tried removing the battery and there isn't a CMOS jumper.

thanks in advance.
__________________

fickena is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Have you flashed your BIOS with the newest version?
__________________

__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I am unable to do this as I can not see the screen.
fickena is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

****.. that sucks.. ummmm.. When you removed the battery did you also pull the power cord out of the back of the comp?
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Yep, totally unplugged everything for about 10hrs. Not sure what to do now, may have to try and find an ISA video card to boot from, apparently they work with everything.

Nightmare! Just found out another one of my PC's motherboards was fried, crappy day.
fickena is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Yes that sucks.. I have those days all the time..
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Are you sure the AGP card is seated correctly? Sometimes they can be tricky to install, especially the first time. Make sure you push it in nice and hard
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.