Reset BIOS Settings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2003, 07:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19
Default Reset BIOS Settings

Gooday All,

I have an embarrassing problem I hope someone can help me with. I have a Gigabyte 8IE533 (Intel 845E Chipset) motherboard and have been playing around with Bios settings. In a nutshell, I've changed some type of "latency" setting. Now, I can't boot up at all, can't get back into the CMOS settings screen. No monitor working - nothing working, just a long, repeated beeping noise. A friend told me to find the reset jumper settings on the motherboard and reset the BIOS. I can't find them and can't see anything in the manual either. I tried the Gigabyte homepage, but no success there either. Can someone PLEASE help me. I feel like a right moron, but I guess I've learnt something from my mistake.

Thanks in advance :-)

My system:
Pentium 4 2.4
8IE533 Gigabyte Motherboard (Intel 845E chipset)
512mb PC2100 DDR Ram
80gb WD 7200rpm HDD
Geforce4 128mb DDR Graphics
Lite-On 48x48x24 CDRW
Samsung 52x CDROM
17" Packard Bell Monitor
__________________

Terry is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I can't find a CMOS reset jumper in the manual either.. well, that's what you get for buying a Gigabyte mobo

Anyways, try pulling the battery out for 10-15 minutes, put it back in, and you should be good to go.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT pull out the small silver circular batter (looks like an over sized watch battery). This is VERY likely to cause extensive damage to your hardware and is not recommended.

If the board is relatively new, call for tech support. or RMA it.
Seloce is offline  
Old 02-11-2003, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Pulling out the CMOS battery isn't going to damage any hardware, unless maybe you slip with the screwdriver or something...
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 02-12-2003, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

LOL, yeah, it would probably not be a good idea to remove the battery with the system powered on hehe.. just like it's not a good idea to remove the processor while the system is turned on.. I just figured turning the computer off first was a given when working with PC hardware
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 02-12-2003, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

As added precaution, I would also unplug the ATX power plug from the mobo itself (the plug with many wires in it).
Datt is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19
Default

Sorry I haven't replied for awhile, but I do appreciate all your help. Pulling the battery out (power disconnected, of course) solved the problem. Thanks again :-)
__________________

Terry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.