replacing a power supply - help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default replacing a power supply - help

haven't had too much trouble so far, about to try to fire it up and make sure my new power supply is working, then work on installing my video card next.

Two concerns though. The power supply I bought is a 20 pin connector to connect to the motherboard.

My motherboard takes a 24 pin connector. So I have 4 spaces empty. I've heard thats usually OK. Is that right?

Also, I'm about to test it like I said. I've heard I should try and tie up remaining wire to keep it neat and maintain good airflow.

What should I use to tie up all these cables?

Thx,

Macdawg

I have one 4 pin connector in my hard drive, one in each optical drive, and 2 in the motherboard. Am I missing anything? I have a lot of left over cable.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...148-017&depa=0

that is the power supply that I purchased if that helps at all.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You really dont need a 24pin PSU. 20 is good enough unless you run into unforseen problems. If you do just buy an adapter.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

aspire sucks

get
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-154&depa=0
or
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-934&depa=0
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Uzi quit suggesting that crap. If the mobo calls for a 24pin PSU, then just use a 24pin PSU or adapter. I know you'll say 'mine works fine' but they do that to even out loads. They wouldn't make it require 24 pin if the 20 pin would be fine in every single situation.

Mac, spend $2 and just get an adapter man. That rules out any possibilities of problems arising.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Thanks guys.

I'm going to try to fire it up and see if it works though, I really want to get my video card installed tonight and have a round of far cry.

Can I just use a rubber band to tie up excess wire?
macdawg is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Uzi quit suggesting that crap. If the mobo calls for a 24pin PSU, then just use a 24pin PSU or adapter. I know you'll say 'mine works fine' but they do that to even out loads. They wouldn't make it require 24 pin if the 20 pin would be fine in every single situation.

Mac, spend $2 and just get an adapter man. That rules out any possibilities of problems arising.
WTF, YOU should not talk if you do not know what you are talking about. And they don't "require" it. I have seen 4 different LGA775 setups that have 24pin mobos. And only 20 pin PSU. They all run fine. So I would not lose sleep over getting an adapter.

And also sometimes an adapter will do more harm than good. Because the adapter has to split some rails on your PSU, and if the PSU is crap, the computer will be unstable.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I'm on the desktop now so everythings copasetic, but I'm going to buy the adapter anyway for the future.

When I turned my system on it said that intel recommends a 2 X 12 or a 2 X 10 with an additional 1 X 4 adapter, so I'll just buy an extra 1 X 4 in case I need it.

But I started tonight with the mission of getting this power supply and video card on the computer to have a round of far cry on the 6600gt so I can begin my operation to blow people up.

I appreciate everyone of your posts, even the one that says my new power supply sucks!
macdawg is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 02:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

There are a lot of different opinions in this forum. Everyone thinks their's is right. Don't worry about it. If it works for you, great. If it fails, buy a new one and learn a lesson. That's what I think.

As for all of the wires, if you really wanna make the inside of your case nice, buy some of these (Cable Sleeving). They are easy to install and look great. Also, they increase airflow!
http://www.ultraproducts.com/product...roducts_id=288
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.