Replacing the CPU in a raidmax - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2005, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Replacing the CPU in a raidmax

Is it possible to replace the stock psu in a raidmax storm case with a OCZ powerstream without removing the mobo?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

huh?

you unscrew the PSU and then screw back in the new PSU

you COULD leave the mobo there, but it's much harder

why not just remove the PSU first before building?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Well the computer is for the kids and what I wanted to do was try the computer with the stock psu and see how she ran. I wasnt gonna by them a $130.00 psu unless it was necessary.

The specs are:

Raidmax storm w/420w psu
MSI K8N Neo2 platinum
AMD 64 3000+
Corsair valueselect 1gb kit
Radeon 9600pro 256mb
Seagate baracuda 80gb SATA
Drive
Floppy
Mobo sound
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You dont need to remove the mobo

Get a 420watt thermaltake td-420AD, cheap, good and it wont ruin all your components like a raidmax
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Hmm, ruin all the components? So in otherwords...Dont try the stock psu? If its not a good idea then I will just order a new one and they can wait for the computer. I dont feel like paying more money for being impatient.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

He said CPU, not PSU
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

But he means PSU

And those raidmax's PS's cant be trusted, peak values at around 20 degrees's, a 300 watt antec would whoop one of them anyday
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default OOps

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
He said CPU, not PSU
Sorry, my bad, meant psu :0
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 08:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I've never seen a case where you had to remove the mobo just to get the PSU you. Unscrew the slut, yank it out and replace it
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 08:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Um... I'm pretty sure you can't unscrew a slut. I know you can screw them though... But, that's for another forum...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.