Replacing a Backlight - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orono
Posts: 67
Default Replacing a Backlight

how do you identify which backlight is blown? I have two new backlights but my monitor has 4 so I don't know how to tell which ones are blown.
__________________

jebathan is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

...

WHAT?!??
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orono
Posts: 67
Default

its an LCD monitor. The screen doesnt light up anymore but if you hold a flashlight up to it yuo can still see the image. So I came to conculsion that backlights were blown. Instead of paying someone 100 dollars to fix it I decide to order the 13 dollar backlights and replcae them myself. The only problem is I can't tell which ones are dead. making sense yet?'
jebathan is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Default

just replace both of them and you wont have to worry about them
rootbeeris is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

He's right. It would still be saving you money.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

whhhhhhoooa there...back that train up ! its not the lamps, id bet on it ! its most likely your power inverter to the lamps! blown fuse most likely! did you check the voltage to the lamps? is ther any? ohh and WATCH OUT ! ! ! that " IS " high voltage!
what is it in ? lap top?
__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

good call there Smokin-A.I.!! if you can't tell which light is burnt out right away then more than likely it isn't burnt. It would be sort of like any other burnt light.....slight darkening or scorch mark inside the light itself.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.