To replace or not to replace??!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default To replace or not to replace??!!

Ok, so I have a Samsung 997 DF monitor. Here is the specs list: http://product.samsung.com/cgi-bin/n...d_id=LE19ISBBQ

So, when I got it the only resolution I can use is 1600x1200, and at that high text is blurry and hard to see.

When I lower it to 1280x1024, the pixels show VERY well. I can see the from across the room. And obviously at even lower resolutions, it's worse.

I ordered a replacement for it, and when it got here I plugged it in and it did the exact same thing. I have tried the monitor on other computers, and it does the same thing.

So, either I got two funky monitors in a row or it's the fact that it is .20mm pitch.

I have seen many other people complain about this same problem, so what I am asking is...should I get a new one (re-order ANOTHER one) or should I find another monitor?
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Try downloading and using Microsoft's ClearType power toy.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/d...powertoys.mspx (go to the page and click the top link under 'Download' on the right-hand side)

Quote:
ClearType Tuner (New)

This PowerToy lets you use ClearType technology to make it easier to read text on your screen, and installs in the Control Panel for easy access.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I remember someone saying something about the .20 mm dot pitch bein a problem..here it is:

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
If you're willing to spend a little more (about $60) here is the best gaming CRT you can get:
http://www.techonweb.com/products/pr...aspx?id=A65679

Oh, one other thing, a .20mm dot pitch is NOT good. When the dot pitch is to low, it blurs the picture. A good dot pitch would be .25-.23mm.
Heres the thread
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...&highlight=.20
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 01:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Hey, thanks.

Ok...so one question. I know some people who have the same monitor I have (beedubaya too) and he uses it on very low resolutions (1024x768) and he says it's just fine. Nice, clear, non pixelated image. However when I put it down there, it gets really grainy and crappy looking.

Is this because it's .20mm dot pitch? Or is it a broken monitor. Keep in mind my replacement did the same thing.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 06:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Bump...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 07:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

.20mm dot pinch. Because if your replacement did the same thing then it wasn't a problem with that certain monitor...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Did you use the ClearType? It lets you choose the type that looks the clearest on your resolution settings.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yes, although this problem lies in the monitor...like above the desktop. Will cleartype work with that?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 10:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I dunno, but it might.

LCDs perform best in their native resolutions.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 12:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

It's a CRT. Sorry if I was confusing.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.