Rendering Systems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2006, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default Rendering Systems?

I was talking about rendering and hardware specs with a friend, and the question came up:

What kind of computers (specs?) do professional rendering companies (ILM, Pixar, etc) use as workstations?

Anyone knows?
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted on Wikipedia:
Pixar uses a cluster of off the shelf Linux PCs in the production of all their movies despite ties to Steve Jobs, founder and current CEO of Apple Computers.
Heh.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Interesting indeed. So they use clusters of "normal" computers? No info on detailed specs?
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Allot of companys send there stuff to render farms to get it done for them. Render farms ussually have lots of render nodes.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Pixar has their own rendering machines. they're a big company.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 01:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Any clue as to what the specs are? That was my original question.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Meithan
Any clue as to what the specs are? That was my original question.
Well Boxx is a popular vender of render nodes and they sell these

http://www.boxxtech.com/Products/Ren...RenderBOXX.asp

I'm not sure how many companys use these but some of them might.
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.