Removing slave drive - pc won't boot now - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2006, 09:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default Removing slave drive - pc won't boot now

Hi,
I'm trying to remove the Western Digital slave to use as an external drive. There is no system or os information on it, it was used for personal storage and it has been formatted to erase all of that. The pc works with the slave installed - when I unplug it from the cable and power supply, and restart, the pc won't boot. I checked the jumpers, and tried plugging in the (terminal) end of the daisy chained cable (where the slave was plugged in).
*Take special note of this statement: I tried booting from floppy disk - one time I got statement that it was trying to read drive D which would have been the removed slave drive and should have become the cd-rom (automatically??).
Is there a way to remove the slave drive from the system before physically removing it? Do I need to do something in BIOS, CMOS, etc.? When the slave was removed, the pc still showed total memory of both drives and it was listed on the IDE HDD AUTO DETECTION during startup before asking for boot disk.

Thanks.
__________________

bthomas is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You should check that your computer is booting from the right drive. Press DEL to enter BIOS settings and look for the boot devices settings.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

I would go into setup and make the changes. You might try just popping out the battery for a few minutes to clear the CMOS. If your drive is jumpered as master I would think it wouldn't be a problem. Although some PC's don't like the master setting without a slave installed as well. Have you tried the cable select setting?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,
I checked Bios Setup = Boot Sequence = C,A
bthomas is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

What is cable select setting?
bthomas is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Corrected problem. Jumper for drive in pc must be set as 'single' not 'master'.
bthomas is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bthomas
Corrected problem. Jumper for drive in pc must be set as 'single' not 'master'.
Some drives have that, didn't think about it.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.